Music Mondays: Dimension W


[DeadFish] Dimension W - 07 [720p][AAC].mp4_snapshot_23.27_[2016.03.07_09.34.29]

With the series finally getting into the meat and bones of it’s own plot, I think it’s time we should throw some appreciation to Dimension W’s favorable intro and ending themes. 

Dimension W is one of the shows that have been entertaining me subtly throughout the winter season. There are objectively better shows airing, but I feel as though I need this series to keep me from getting bored or anxious for the next week. It’s playful, it has good animation, and I can accredit a lot of my insatiable need to the show’s main Opening and Ending themes.

Opening 1: “Genesis” by STEREO DIVE FOUNDATION

STEREO DIVE FOUNDATION have really caught my eye within the last year. They bursted onto the anime scene with Renegade and have now done another bang up job with Dimension W. Genesis follows the same sort of formula as their previous hit song, but suits this show as Bradio did with Death Parade. It’s a very simple formula in theory: futuristic show + futuristic music = great opening. Yet, it’s really rare to see this sort of Mainstream autotune/house/dubstep genre get the right treatment in anime. Fear, and Loathing in Las Vegas doesn’t really fit the bill as such. Genesis makes me want to dance. When I want to dance, it has to be a good song. So yes. This is a great song to dance to. Fill in the gaps of doubt with your main protagonist showing off his dance moves and fan-fucking-tastic animation direction from Yasuomi Umetsu, you’ve got one godlike theme for an anime. Also, DID YOU SEE THAT CAR FLIP? I still love seeing that at the beginning of every episode.

Rating: 8/10

 

Ending 1: “Contrast” by Fo’xTails

I’ve never actually heard of Fo’xTails. Apparently they’ve done an ending theme for some basketball anime I’ve stopped paying attention to. Despite that feature being far more impressive than being in Dimension W, I much prefer “Contrast” as a theme. The full song gets more and more palatable the more you listen to it, but in all honesty this Ending theme could have also worked as an Opening. When the chorus hits, ohhhh man the chills. The animation and song just fit so damn well. Transitions are on point, vocals are enticing every time they hit that first note, and our heroine being the focus really brings home what the feeling of the song should be. Fight for your humanity. Blah Blah Blah it’s cheesy I know, but it’s a really good ending theme guys trust me. I know some of my friends aren’t the biggest fans of it, but I’m really feeling this song. I’ve had it on repeat a few times when driving downtown and oh my goodness does it feel righteous. I have a strange feeling Fo’xTails won’t get me again in the future like they did here. Again, the animation and context sort of carry this song. There are times when you hear an anime theme and all you can think about is the anime. This is such a case. Hopefully, I’m wrong and they prove to me that they can write/insert a song that fits with the show thematically again, because this is seriously my favorite theme, so far, of 2016.

Will’s Biased Boner Rating: 10/10

Actual Rating: 7/10

But that’s just me  ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

tumblr_nobrfhxiMQ1rfbp51o1_500
So thanks for joining me on another Music Monday! As I always say at the end of a post, hopefully, I’ll start making this a regular thing. I’m getting back into the groove so pray that I can start sharing more music I come across. Less posts like this though. They might appear halfway throughout each season if I really think an opening is worth people’s time and Dimension W seems to be getting a lot of flak for being stale which I can agree with, but you can’t deny that they have done a great job in selecting their themes. Peace out and have a better Monday ya’ll.

About Kefka
Writer for NeoParadigm City. Aspiring Jpop gravure idol. Look out Shakira.

Leave a Reply

